Kumquat Salsa Asian Style

Photobucket


Beautiful bright orange with soft even tone, smooth firm skin that looks so promisingly juicy and sweet inside. These fruit has always intrigued me since the first time I found it. But how do I eat it? I tried peeling that firm oval skin once, only to find a slippery pulp inside. Maybe I should squeeze it, I wondered. Hey, nothing comes out. Only later after a thorough search on the internet, I understand that one should eat kumquat whole – skin, pulp and seeds.

Having been familiarized with unique flavours of kumquat, I toyed with many ideas how to make this an interesting dish. It has interesting flavours after all. One day I put them in my hot ginger tea with honey. The flavours is just beautiful. I love it. This would go great with pan fried fish steak. Hmmmm…. Mike’s gonna love it for his lunch today.


Photobucket


Lucky me, the kitchen had some fresh fillet of weaver fish. Perfect! Can hardly wait to experiment with new menu. I went straight to work on the kumquat salsa. Then marinate the fish. By 1pm lunch is served. Just beautiful as I had in mind. The kumquat salsa complements the pan-fried fish fillet perfectly……



Pan Fried Weaver Fish
just marinate in salt, pepper & lemon. Leave about 1 hour.
Quickly pan fried in olive oil or butter until it turns nice brownish color. Ready to serve with the salsa


Photobucket


Then I saw some recipes of candied kumquat (will make that next week), kumquat cheesecake – sounds interesting, must try soon – lamb tagine with kumquat (instead of that bitter taste dried lemon) – a definite YES!

I am submitting this recipe for BloggerAid Cookbook Cuisine
supporting their vision of alleviating world famine.
If you’re interested to find out more about this event, click here


Return to Homepage Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

6 Comments»

  Hillary wrote @

Very colorful! I like the originality of this recipe.

  Tangled Noodle wrote @

I haven’t had kumquats in ages! And as usual, your photography absolutely blows me away!!

  robin // caviar and codfish wrote @

Very pretty. : )

  barefootster wrote @

Thank you Hillary, TN and Robin

  foni wrote @

wowww looks good bu.. ..
apa rasanya itu kumkuat?

  Bellini Valli wrote @

Thank you for submitting this delicious recipe to our cookbook and joining with the many who are raising awareness for the worlds hungry:D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

